Topics You Should Avoid on a First Date

I realize that thinking of a first date as a job interview isn’t very sexy, but let’s be real – in a first date scenario. Clearly you’ve got to enhance your resumé.

I’m very sure that most people aren’t experienced enough when it comes to dating. Besides, dating is very rare and often unusual to happen these days. I’m not a love guru by any means, however I’ve gone out on dates before and I do know quite a few things not to talk about. Also, I’ve learned from my best friends’ dating experiences.

These are the topics that you should refrain from saying / asking on your first date :

1. What happened in your last relationship ?

⁃ Of course, on a first date you’re just getting to know the damn person, so you really don’t know why the last relationship ended in shambles. Instead ask about their favorite childhood memory, where they went to college, who their favorite singer is, and their most preferred Holiday meal.

2. Someone’s calling me / I just have to make a phone call

⁃ You have just met someone new, and you’re going to back away to talk to someone else ? This is a no go. Very wrong. Keep your mobile phone in your bag or in your pocket. Resist the urge to pull it out. The struggle is real, but it will be worth it.

3. I’m friends with all of my exes / I still talk to a few of my exes

⁃ Your date does not need to know that your exes are still around, nor does your date need to look forward meeting these people. This is the buzzer beater of all questions. Instead focus on making a first good impression.

4. Why are you still single ?

⁃ This is a code for WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU ? Trust and believe honey, you don’t want to say this. You will never know how to respond to this, unless you’re one of those who have a cocky personality and would say that you’re too good for anyone.

5. I’m moving out of this town soon

⁃ This for sure will lead to too many difficult topics such as long-distance relationships. You will be such a disappointment, because why go on a date when you’re not even gonna be around the following week. Geez, get your priorities straight.

6. I’m gonna cut my hair / I’m gonna dye my hair

⁃ Your dates are attracted to you just the way you are. You don’t have to change something for other people to like you. You were not born to validate other people’s opinions.

7. I’m still in love with my ex / I’m still hung up on my ex

⁃ If you still have feelings with your ex, then you shouldn’t be putting yourself out there. As much as possible, give yourself time to heal. If you think that going out with someone new would help you forget your ex, then by all means go for it. However, mentioning your former flame is not advisable.

8. This is my first time to go out with someone / I’ve only been in like five dates

⁃ You need stop there. Project confidence, be light, and make eye contact. Your date will never know you’re inexperienced. Stop putting yourself down.

9. Make mine a double shot

⁃ Don’t be such a mess on your first date. When your date asks you which bar to go to after dinner, exude confidence and share your thoughts on where to go. Don’t drink too much on a first date. Your date doesn’t want to be with someone who can’t handle their own liquor and has to be taken home for being drunk.

10. How much money do you make ?

⁃ This question is very rude and should never be asked ever. This is just so damn wrong in so many levels. If you’re so desperate to know how much your date earns, then go on google and search their occupation’s salary.

***RELIGION AND POLITICS SHOULD ALSO BE TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION AND SHOULD NEVER BE TALKED ABOUT***

Leave a Reply

