Night Out

Whether we are drinking or not, alcohol remains a potent part of our lives. Our culture is saturated with it, steeped in it. Drinking is one of those hot-button topics.

Their semester has ended, yet I still have a month to go, but that won’t stop me from having an exhilarating night out. It started out one afternoon whereby I tweeted “Someone take me to Pizza Hut right now” and my friend Nathalie replied to my tweet asking me to come to their sem ender celebration. I didn’t have the luxury of time to get ready and make myself look as decent as possible.

I immediately took a shower, put on an olive-green shirt, threw on a denim jacket, a pair of black jeans, and white sneakers. Looking at myself in the mirror, I’m a mess, but a creative mess. The uber has arrived and I’m ready to go. I arrived late, and they were already drinking.

We drink for different reasons: to quench thirst, to loosen up or get drunk, because it tastes good, to enhance a meal, because weโ€™re addicted, as part of a ceremony, to celebrate, to mourn. We drink when weโ€™re happy. We drink when weโ€™re sad. And then there are the non-drinkers, for whom abstaining may be as much of an issue as drinking.

It’s getting late, we decided to go to Starbucks to in some way wash the alcohol off through tea and coffee. Unplanned moments are the best. I never thought of going out that day, but it happened. Live your lives to the fullest. Drink responsibly !

Leave a Reply

